Fun with Trade Show Season ;-)

CES is coming up in January, there is lots of talk about what products will be announced. But there is also the “after hours” part which won’t be part of any official trip report. From my experience the big beer hall on the Hanover fair grounds has to be experienced at least once. This is a good reason to go to CeBit.

Having a bit of fun with this — there is no one better than Hunter S. Thompson to describe what an “Event” experience is like. His description of attending the 1970 Kentucky derby is old & isn’t in Vegas, but it catches the madness vibe of event-land so well. Enjoy. The Kentucky Derby is Decadent and Depraved

My favorite part of the story is the search for the special face for the lead drawing … the face appears on the last day … it is was, of course, my own.

He had done a few good sketches, but so far we hadn’t seen that special kind of face that I felt we would need for a lead drawing. It was a face I’d seen a thousand times at every Derby I’d ever been to.

My eyes had finally opened enough for me to foucs on the mirror across the room and I was stunned at the shock of recognition. For a confused instant I thought that Ralph had brought somebody with him–a model for that one special face we’d been looking for. There he was, by God–a puffy, drink-ravaged, disease-ridden caricature…like an awful cartoon version of an old snapshot in some once-proud mother’s family photo album. It was the face we’d been looking for–and it was, of course, my own. Horrible, horrible…

Comments are closed.

