iPod Video – Too Much Fun – MPEG-4 Tools

There is yet another iPod in our house 😀 the iPod Video. The video part is very new to me. So …. I spent some time figuring out how to load home video clips and other stuff on to it.

MPEG Streamclip 1.8 continues to be a very useful tool for all things Mac Video. I’ve used it for a few years for converting my Sony camera’s mux’d MPEG video clips to something the Mac can use. No version of Quicktime supports this 😦

Converting .mov, .mpg, .flv, and other formats is straight-forward. Open the video clip in Streamclip, select “File -> Export to MPEG-4 … , in the dialog box that appears select iPod, then select 4:3 or 16:9, “et voila” the conversion ( slow ) takes place. This creates an .mp4 file which is copied to iTunes for syncing to iPod.

💡 This is going to be a “beautiful time waster” 😉

The following links were very helpful in my quest to understand video for the iPod:

Comments are closed.

