Agitating the Marketing Guy in Me

I listened to iInnovate’s Geoffrey Moore inteview last week and it has been “gnawing” at me ever since. I’ve been intending to write a lengthy post on the subject, but I get too agitated 👿

It is not that I don’t agree with Geoffrey Moore, it is that I find him far to close for comfort. My thoughts gel, I get a vision, and then I get mad 😡 Eventually I hide his books and avoid them for a few years.

This time was no different. I listened to the interview. His answer to “What opportunities do you see for an MBA” set me off. I then dug out “Living on the Fault Line” and re-read chapters 5 “Triage” and chapter 6 “Building to Last”. I had not read these since 2001, they really “set me off” then and they still “really really agitate me”.

It’s just too personal. In the Chapter 6 discussion of corporate cultures I was treated to information that allowed me to explain exactly why I changed jobs in ’96. All the emotion of that decision came back (evil) 👿 I was young and the transition from a competence culture to control culture was in full swing. I had picked the winning side of the battle and positioned myself appropriately. But I quickly discovered that I didn’t want anything to do with it.

I can’t even begin to describe how painful chapter 5 “Triage” is to read. Too close for comfort. For example, the point on Strategic Marketing on Main Street page 191

So Strategic Marketing does not create a stovepipe ever. Tactical marketing is another matter.

Kinda cryptic, but this means that Strategic Marketing is an extremely lonely place to be and it doesn’t have any mass. Everything becomes Tactical Marketing.

The key point on this chapter is that that most companies in this phase have forgotten how to “Cross the Chasm”. I’ve written a bit about this kind of thing before 😦

Since I’m a glutton for punishment I’m gonna buy his newer book Dealing with Darwin” this week 🙂

I have already downloaded the slide deck of figures and it looks like its gonna “really bend me out of shape”. The 3 slides on Cisco and translating them to chip-land is downright freaky. I’ve discussed this before, but this presentation technique really focusses it. I’m guessing that in chip-land analog & f/w skills land in core and digital design & s/w land in context. Anyways, I’ll read the book and do the slides in a few weeks.

3 Responses to Agitating the Marketing Guy in Me

  1. Min Liu says:

    Hi, Thanks for listening to our podcast. Be it irritating or helpful, we hope the thoughts shared by people like Geoffrey will generate good insight and follow-ups, be it differing or not. It’s refreshing to read various opinions — helps me get the spectrum.

    Keep in touch with iinnovate — we have a great lineup in the next couple months!

    Min, on behalf of the iinnovate team.
    http://iinnovate.blogspot.com

  2. Iain Verigin says:

    I really like these interviews — keep up the good work.

  3. […] recently procured Geoffrey Moore’s Dealing with Darwin and am hoping to post wrt/ Comm Semi space in the near […]

