Wow! A book on Customer Development

On the recommendation of Marc Andreesen’s blog blog.pmarca.com: Book of the week: Best book for tech entrepreneurs this year I ordered The Four Steps to the Epiphany (Paperback) – by Steven Gary Blank (Author). Andreesen’s pitch was:

In a nutshell, Steve proposes that companies need a Customer Development process that complements their Product Development Process. And he lays out exactly what he thinks that Customer Development process should be. This goes directly to the theory of Product/Market Fit that I have discussed on this blog before — in this book, Steve provides a roadmap for how to get to Product/Market Fit.

The book arrived and I’m pumped!

I just got it yesterday and did some power skimming. My initial thoughts:

This is fantastic stuff ❗ The content is great. But note that it looks more like a manual than a polished biz book 😦

You can expect a load of posts wrt/ this book in the coming weeks. I always thought I was alone on this topic. Over the years, I have developed some crude methods & processes to follow for products entering markets/segments that are new to my firm. (ie startups within a larger firm) These are derived from my “hands on expererience” with success ( and failure ). Some people like my approach, but most think I’m crazy. This latter view is well supported because I’ve never had a book or expert to support me. Looks like I’ve found him 😎

4 Responses to Wow! A book on Customer Development

  1. […] I’ll be able to post comments on the first few chapters of Gary Blank’s Customer Development book later this […]

  2. […] to Epiphany – First Thoughts I’ve been intending to comment on Steven Blank’s, The Four Steps to Epiphany for a while now. It has taken me longer to digest than I first […]

  3. JDMorris says:

    I agree. I have seen each of the problems Steve covers in starups. His approach is absolutely necessary for startup to be successful. He is great in person, too.

  4. ekspekt says:

    interesting post, will come back here, bookmarked your site

