Wow! More Orson Scott Card – Speaker for the Dead

This is a great book ❗ It was very hard for me to put this one down. I can easily blame my slow blogging on this book. It took up every spare minute I had this past week.

It’s interesting that it is so different than the earlier book Enders Game. This book deals with loss and emotions in a way that is not often found in Sci Fi. The genre usually has lots of blastem’ up scenes, but little description of how it affects the “shooters”. This book is all about Ender’s life after the big “shot”. It deals with terrible and ugly feelings. Very powerful. Very cool 😎 It often reminded me of Joan Didion’s The Year of Magical Thinking, especially when the role of “Speaker for the Dead” is described.

I listened to it, the audible version is great. But had to get the book from the library as well. The language is difficult at times and I needed to see the words.

Which one is better? Ender’s game is the better Sci-Fi book and Speaker for the Dead is the better “real life” book.

One Response to Wow! More Orson Scott Card – Speaker for the Dead

  1. […] Bean books were much “thinner” in ideas than the original “Enders Game” and “Speaker for the Dead”. I don’t care, this is such good escapism. Bring on the […]

