PMC-Sierra’s Bob Bailey Retires

I was shocked to hear of Bob Bailey’s retirement today. He’s been PMC’s CEO for so long I expected him to be there forever. With the departures of Kevin and recently Greg it did make me begin to wonder about Bob’s future at PMC. Surely the stress of the past decade was affecting him too.

On my front, I learned a lot from him.

I can still remember him grilling me on customer lists back in the early ’90’s – Where is the list? Who are the decision makers? What’s the priority? What do they want?

Always stressing “fundamentals”, the necessity of everyone “blocking & tackling” and that old-school wasn’t a bad “phrase”. PMC is all about relationships, credibility and delivering on promises.

Thanks Bob. It’s been a great adventure. All the best in your new endeavours.

3 Responses to PMC-Sierra’s Bob Bailey Retires

  1. Sean says:

    Hi Iain,

    Bob was the reason for PMC’s failure. PMC had a great potential but Bob’s wrong decision made it a non-relevant company in the telecom market. Just look at the wireline revenue of PMC. They fired the VP of Wireline and the VP of Marketing responsible for wireline, while Wireline was the bread and butter of PMC.

    The 2000 boom can’t be creadited to Bob since almost all chip vendors experienced that. He did some very wrong aquisitions such as EPD.

  2. Iain Verigin says:

    The glory years of PMCS were the result of many peoples effort. It was a team effort. I learned a lot from all of the team, including Bob. That is what I’m saying here.

    I’ve found no shortage of people who want blame “one” person for the post-2000 struggles. I don’t buy it.

  3. Prasad says:

    I must say I agree with Sean (not quite sure which Sean it is).

    Having had the experience of working with 2 more CEOs after my stint at PMC, I’ve learnt that Bob was extremely good at figuring out what NOT to do and showed little leadership about what to do.

    Yes, he had his fundamentals absolutely correct in the sales process – PMC’s weekly sales reports and sales/marketing interactions are exceptionally high-quality (I’ve realized this after working for other companies). However, his fundamentals were limited to the tactical portion of the sales cycle.

    In any case, I don’t think one person can be “credited” for all the problems of the post 2000 high-tech market, however, I strongly believe that Bob’s performance was sub par. If he had a little less personal ego, he would have made a good sales VP.

