Declining Math & Science Enrollment – Bill Gates in Canada 2008

During the last decade, the number of college students who study math and science in Canada and the United States has declined dramatically. says Bill Gates today in a Globe & Mail article titled “What’s right with young people today“. It’s an interesting article, but it doesn’t do much in the way of helping understand the “dramatic decline”.

I re-read my post on last year’s Bill Gates visit to Canada and I don’t have much new to add. My bottom line is that from an adults view the BComm looks much better bet than math, science, and engineering. Maybe that is why Gates says “young people are often right”. Us adults are too negative on Sciences.

I find it hard to be positive today when when so many technology firms in Canada ( US and Europe ) are laying off technology workers right now. Ok maybe I’m too close to the hell zone of telecoms. But the telecoms sector has been a big technology employer in Canada, so this sector drives perception beyond me. It is hard for me to miss that my employer PMC-Sierra has had dramatic reductions in Canada. This has opened my eyes to the fact that it is happening to many companies in Canada.

Maybe I just got out of bed on the wrong side today 💡

2 Responses to Declining Math & Science Enrollment – Bill Gates in Canada 2008

  1. […] My gut says that these “nerd” behaviors that Eric describes, and the lack of support for them, are at the root of why we have big guys like Bill Gates talking strongly about declining Math & Science Enrollment. […]

