Link | Please teach kids programming, Mr. President » Eric Ries’ Blog

Please teach kids programming, Mr. President » Lessons Learned

Of course, what I (Eric) really mean is: let them teach themselves.

Eric’s long post really hit me hard. I’ve got many thoughts popping up. I’ll have to stew on it some more.

My gut says that these “nerd” behaviors that Eric describes, and the lack of support for them, are at the root of why we have big guys like Bill Gates talking strongly about declining Math & Science Enrollment.

Just how does one support the average “nerd” programmer who starts programming at age 13 ( ie many years before it is taught in school )?

One Response to Link | Please teach kids programming, Mr. President » Eric Ries’ Blog

  1. […] reminded me of Eric Ries’ post on software folks. Ries says that software programmers learn on their own. Most software-types learn to program before coding is […]

