Fizzers Get Smashed

A big congratulations to the Fizz Project Lab Director, Jon Nakane, for hosting another successful project fair. Excellent stuff Jon, Bernhard, and Jeff! The students, projects, speakers, and food were great 🙂

Congratulations to award winners and all the students who displayed their projects. I liked this years confined display area because it forced us all to mingle faster. It was great to see some working demos this year – the iPod Touch video, eye-gaze, and servo-motor demos all worked. The eye-gave was a bit un-nerving. When it locked onto my eyes it felt like it wasn’t gonna let go. Strange.

“Speed it up and Smash it!” — This years theme was “The Science and Engineering in Accelerators and Detectors”. It’s been a while since I’ve been to a talk on accelerators. It was fascinating ( and mind-numbing).

I appreciated that the first speaker Dr. Lia Merminga , Chief of Accelerator Physics, TRIUMF, gave a talk that my daughter and I could understand ( ok almost understand ). She focussed on “How to Build an Accelerator”. It was fascinating to learn about the history of accelerators and then hear about today’s Large Hadron Colider (LHC). The LHC is massive with ~1,200 x 15 meter long super-conducting magnets @ 2 deg-K and that the alignment of the smash-zone has nano-meter tolerance ❗ It was great to hear that our local Triumf is contributing on a world stage.

The second speaker Dr. Colin Gay, UBC Physics and Astronomy ( ATLAS experiment at LHC) focussed his talk on what the LHC will help Physicists find out and why. It was a much tougher talk to digest, but it was worth it. My favorite quote was “This is an interesting audience ’cause all of you have taken Quantum Mechanics” … I’d restate that as “survived a QM class” 👿

One item that makes the speaker section of this fair work has been that the speaker’s are given license to give recruiting style talks. This was in evidence again this year. It definitely helps create a good energy between audience and the speaker.

Great Stuff. I’ll be back next year.

update Mar 17 – Presentations

2 Responses to Fizzers Get Smashed

  1. I have searched about the word “stepper motor” and you blog appeared to me.
    where can I read about stepper motor in details in your blog?!

