Is “Unschooling” The Word For It?

I saw “An Unschooling Manifesto » Dave Pollard” discussed in Fred Wilson’s blog today. Very interesting stuff. Pollard talks about how he was allowed to escape the “system” and that his grades improved dramatically.

It reminded me of Eric Ries’ post on software folks. Ries says that software programmers learn on their own. Most software-types learn to program before coding is taught in school, and are therefore self-started. ( Average age that a “coding addict” starts programming is 13)

My personal experience leans towards self-learning. I played Junior hockey in high-school. That meant that I was rarely at school in grade 12. But my grades didn’t suffer. My grades only got worse when I stopped playing competitive hockey. Weird.

Comments are closed.

