Big Bucks and Choking

Sport’s analogies creep into business speak all the time. Here is a good one relating big pay with stress and eventually “choking”.

Those who are intrinsically motivated, who work at creative or cognitively challenging jobs, and who want to do great work because it gives them great satisfaction, may discover that their performance suffers when financial rewards balloon – as they do with huge bonuses. It’s called “choking under pressure,” Susan Pinker: globeadvisor.com: The motivational paradox of big bonuses

Summer has ended 😦 It was time to do a “serious” post.

2 Responses to Big Bucks and Choking

  1. JimmyBean says:

    I don’t know If I said it already but …Hey good stuff…keep up the good work! 🙂 I read a lot of blogs on a daily basis and for the most part, people lack substance but, I just wanted to make a quick comment to say I’m glad I found your blog. Thanks,)

    A definite great read..Jim Bean

