Summer 2012 Reading Snippets

Here are my summer reading snippets. Hopefully I’ll write in depth about a few of them.

Excellent Stuff

Fun, Sci-Fi – Fiction

  • Zero History, by William Gibson (audio and text ) – I finally got to this. What was I waiting for?! This is an amazing book. I’m still a Gibson fan-boy. I loved the whole series: Pattern Recognition, Spook Country and now Zero History.
  • Ender’s Game Series – Speaker For the Dead, Xenocide, Children of the Mind, by Orson Scott Card. – I re-read this over the summer. Pure joy 🙂 The only bad thing about this series is — “that it ends”. I didn’t want it to end.
  • Chomp, by Carl Hiassen– A great addition to Hiassen’s “teen” fiction books: Hoot, Flush, and Scat. Flush is still our family favorite. We read this aloud at our cottage. Loads of fun.

Science, Psychology, Design, Drawing – Non-Fiction

  • Blah Blah Blah: What To Do When Words Don’t Work, by Dan RoamMust Read I’ve always been a firm believer that in the engineering world drawing on the whiteboard is a key communication medium. So I loved this book. It takes communicating via “sketches” to a whole new level. Wow!
  • Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking, by Susan Cain I really liked this book. I got it because it was heavily tweeted and blogged. It seemed very interesting and it didn’t disappoint. I can say that I’m part of the target audience. It was also interesting that this book got picked up and read at the cottage a lot { kinda makes sense since introverts are usually readers 🙂 }
  • Magic Hours: Essays on Creators and Creation, Tom Bissell I picked this via a ringing endorsement by Maria Popova’s blog Summer Reading List 2012: 10 Essential Books for Cognitive Sunshine | Brain Pickings This is way off my usual radar. But it was supremely good reading.
  • Sketching User Experiences: Getting the Design Right and the Right Design, Bill Buxton Wow! Wow! Wow! I found this in the Bibliography of Business Model Generation. This is not an easy read, so I find it hard to make it a must read. That said there are so many good ideas that are well developed and explained thoroughly. If you’re into innovation then this is a must read. I really like how much time Buxton spends relating and positioning design with respect to the other disciplines like marketing and engineering. The whole concept of sketching vs. prototyping took a while to sink in for me. I’m hoping to write more on this book. It has a good history of the iPod in it too.
  • The American Scholar, Ralph Waldo Emerson – again a Brainpickings recommendation. Fascinating. Happy Birthday, Frank Lloyd Wright: 10 Thoughts on Education and Learning | Brain Pickings. More info The American Scholar – Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Addictions

  • Unconscious Putting: Dave Stockton’s Guide to Unlocking Your Signature Stroke, Dave Stockton, Matthew Rudy No wonder I can’t putt. This book is very thin in every way except one thing. His points on “finding the line” and “keeping the line in one’s mind” are absolutely amazing tips!!!!
Comments are closed.

