Riffing on Consumerization of Technology (@pmarca tech crunch interview )

Marc Andreessen On The Future Of Enterprise | TechCrunch is a “beautiful riff” on the Consumerization of Enterprise Software. If you’re in the technology business you’ve known this for a long time. The consumer problems are often “more technically challenging” than the Enterprise/Telco problems. Thus the consumer solutions are often very good at a fraction of the selling price. They are hard to ignore. For example, in networking hardware, audio and video usage in the home makes bandwidth much more important for consumers than enterprises. The enterprise desktop is easy to serve. While the home desktop and media center is hard. A Linksys EA6500 Router is a marvel. This is overkill for a small office and perfect for media centered home. The “new” thing for me is the extent to which this is now true and the myriad of solutions available. Wow!

More Banter

I love listening to Marc Andreesen’s manifesto style. Love ’em or hate ’em. There is a lot to be learned by this technology “State of the Union” post.

It reminds me of my past riffs on the Consumerization of Telecom Semiconductors. CommSemi Nightmares — 802.3 L3+ chips are just “a backplane device” « Iain’s Chips & Tech. I had a good time re-reading the post. It’s not for broad consumption. It’s an acronym deluge. It was for an audience of 5. Once a chip-nerd always a chip-nerd. C’est la vie. At least my intended audience read it.

One Response to Riffing on Consumerization of Technology (@pmarca tech crunch interview )

  1. Mark Smith says:

    Good day! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.
    Nonetheless, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking back frequently!

